

# 8<sup>th</sup> IFIP International Conference on Theoretical Computer Science TCS 2014 September 1-3, 2014 Rome, Italy http://www.cyprusconferences.org/tcs2014/

Held in conjunction with the 25<sup>th</sup> Conference on Concurrency Theory (CONCUR 2014)

Under the patronage of the International Federation of Information Processing (IFIP), since year 2000 the IFIP Technical Committee 1 (Foundations of Computer Science) has organized a series of biannual international conferences in Theoretical Computer Science. After Sendai (2000), Montreal (2002), Toulouse (2004), Santiago (2006), Milano (2008), Brisbane (2010), and Amsterdam (2012), the 8<sup>th</sup> edition will be held in Rome in September 2014, in cooperation with the IFIP Working Group 2.2 (Formal Description of Programming Concepts) and in conjunction with the 25<sup>th</sup> Conference on Concurrency Theory. We call for papers in all areas of Theoretical Computer Science: they will be evaluated by two committees:

 $\mathbf{Track}\ \mathbf{A}$  Algorithms, Complexity and Models of Computation

 $\mathbf{Track}\ \mathbf{B}$  Logic, Semantics, Specification and Verification.

## Topics

Suggested, but not exclusive, topics of interest include:

**Track A** - analysis and design of algorithms; automata and formal languages; cellular automata and systems; combinatorial, graph and optimization algorithms; computational learning theory; computational complexity; computational geometry; cryptography; descriptive complexity; evolutionary and genetic computing; experimental algorithms; mobile computing; molecular computing and algorithmic aspects of bioinformatics; network computing; neural computing; parallel and distributed algorithms; probabilistic and randomized algorithms; quantum computing; structural information and communication complexity.

**Track B** - automata theory; automated deduction; constructive and non-standard logics in computer science; concurrency theory and foundations of distributed and mobile computing; database theory; finite model theory; formal aspects of program analysis, foundations of hybrid and real-time systems; lambda and combinatory calculi; logical aspects of computational complexity; modal and temporal logics; model checking and verification; probabilistic systems; logics and semantics of programs; foundations of security; term rewriting; specifications; type, proof and category theory in computer science.

## **Invited Speakers**

To be announced

# Submission Guidelines

Authors are invited to submit an extended abstract of at most 15 pages (LNCS style with at least 11-point font size) to arrive before April 27, 2014. If more space is needed, a clearly marked appendix, to be read at the discretion of the program committee, may be included if desired. Submission will be handled by *EasyChair*. Further information and submission details can be found on the Conference web page. Simultaneous submissions to other conferences with published proceedings are not allowed.

#### Proceedings

The conference proceedings will be published by Springer-Verlag in Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) series. Selected papers from TCS 2014 will be invited to a special issue of the Journal *Theoretical Computer Science*.

## **Important Dates**

Deadline for submission: April 27, 2014. Notification of acceptance: June 25, 2014. Final manuscript due: July 6, 2014. Conference: September 1–3, 2014.

#### **Conference Co-Chairs**

Daniele Gorla Sapienza Università di Roma Rossella Petreschi Sapienza Università di Roma

# **Program Committees**

Ŭ	
Track A	
Cristian Calude	University of Auckland
Josep Diaz (Chair)	$UPC \ Barcelona$
Irene Finocchi	Sapienza Università di Roma
Paola Flocchini	University of Ottawa
Aristides Gionis	Aalto University Helsinki
Mordecai Golin	Hong Kong University of Tech.
Juhani Karhumäki	Turku University
Massimo Melucci	Università di Padova
Elvira Mayordomo	Universidad de Zaragoza
Friedhelm Meyer auf	der Heide Univ. of Paderborn
Pekka Orponen	Aalto University Helsinki
Giuseppe Persiano	Università di Salerno
Géraud Sénizergues	Université Bordeaux 1
Olivier Serre	CNRS / Université Paris 7
Paul Spirakis	University of Liverpool
Osamu Watanabe	Tokyo Inst. of Technology
Peter Widmayer	ETH Zurich
Track B	
Jos Baeten	CWI Amsterdam
Lars Birkedal	Aarhus University
Andrei Bulatov	Simon Fraser University
James Cheney	University of Edinburgh
Ugo Dal Lago	Università di Bologna
Josée Desharnais	Université Laval
Jörg Endrullis	Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam
Jérôme Feret	ENS Paris

Marcelo Fiore University of Cambridge Silvio Ghilardi Università di Milano Benjamin Grégoire INRIA Sophia Ichiro Hasuo University of Tokyo Marieke Huisman University of Twente Jean Krivine CNRS / Université Paris 7 Radha Jagadeesan DePaul University, Chicago Ivan Lanese Università di Bologna Grigore Rosu University of Illinois at U-CDavide Sangiorgi (Chair) Università di Bologna University of Southampton Vladimiro Sassone Igor Walukiewicz CNRS / Université Bordeaux 1

## **Steering Committee**

Giorgio Ausiello	Sapienza Università di Roma
Jos Baeten	$CWI \ Amsterdam$
Jacques Sakarovitch	CNRS / Télécom ParisTech