Gödel Prize 2016

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

DEADLINE: JANUARY 31, 2016.

The Gödel Prize for outstanding papers in the area of theoretical computer science is sponsored jointly by the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS) and the Association for Computing Machinery, Special Interest Group on Algorithms and Computation Theory (ACM SIGACT). The award is presented annually, with the presentation taking place alternately at the International Colloquium on Automata, Languages, and Programming (ICALP) and the ACM Symposium on Theory of Computing (STOC). The 24th GÃűdel Prize will be awarded at the 43rd International Colloquium on Automata, Languages and Programming, 11-15 July 2016 in Rome, Italy.

The Prize is named in honor of Kurt Gödel in recognition of his major contributions to mathematical logic and of his interest, discovered in a letter he wrote to John von Neumann shortly before von Neumannś death, in what has become the famous "P versus NP" question. The Prize includes an award of USD 5000. Award Committee: The winner of the Prize is selected by a committee of six members. The EATCS President and the SIGACT Chair each appoint three members to the committee, to serve staggered three-year terms. The committee is chaired alternately by representatives of EATCS and SIGACT. The 2016 Award Committee consists of Moses Charikar (Stanford University), Orna Kupferman (Hebrew University), Kurt Mehlhorn (Max Planck Institute), Joseph Mitchell (State University of New York at Stony Brook), Andrew Pitts (chair, University of Cambridge) and Madhu Sudan (Harvard University).

Eligibility: The 2016 Prize rules are given below and they supersede any different interpretation of the generic rule to be found on websites of both SIGACT and EATCS. Any research paper or series of papers by a single author or by a team of authors is deemed eligible if

(i) the paper was published in a recognized refereed journal no later than December 31, 2015;

(ii) the main results were not published (in either preliminary or final form) in a journal or conference proceedings before January 1st, 2003.

The research work nominated for the award should be in the area of theoretical computer science. Nominations are encouraged from the broadest spectrum of the theoretical computer science community so as to ensure that potential award winning papers are not overlooked. The Award Committee shall have the ultimate authority to decide whether a particular paper is eligible for the Prize.

Nominations: Nominations for the award should be submitted by email to the Award Committee Chair:

Andrew Pitts: Andrew.Pitts@cl.cam.ac.uk

Please make sure that the Subject line of all nominations and related messages begin with "Goedel Prize 2016." To be considered, nominations for the 2014 Prize must be received by **January 31, 2016.**

Any member of the scientific community can make nominations. The Award Committee may actively solicit nominations. A nomination should contain a brief summary of the technical content of the paper(s) and a brief explanation of its significance. A printable copy of the research paper or papers should accompany the nomination. The nomination must state the date and venue of the first conference or workshop publication or state that no such publication has occurred. The work may be in any language. However, if it is not in English, a more extended summary written in English should be enclosed. To be considered for the award, the paper or series of papers must be recommended by at least two individuals, either in the form of two distinct nominations or one nomination including recommendations from two different people. Additional recommendations may also be enclosed and are generally useful. The Award Committee encourages recommendation and support letters to be mailed separately, without being necessarily shared with the nominator(s). The rest of the nomination package should be sent in a single email whenever possible. Those intending to submit a nomination should contact the Award Committee Chair by email well in advance. The Chair will answer questions about eligibility, encourage coordination among different nominators for the same paper(s), and also accept informal proposals of potential nominees or tentative offers to prepare formal nominations. The committee maintains a database of past nominations for eligible papers, but fresh nominations for the same papers (especially if they highlight new evidence of impact) are always welcome.

Selection Process: The Award Committee is free to use any other sources of information in addition to the ones mentioned above. It may split the award among multiple papers or declare no winner at all. All matters relating to the selection

process left unspecified in this document are left to the discretion of the Award Committee.

Recent Winners

(all winners since 1993 listed at http://www.sigact.org/Prizes/Godel/):

- 2015: DAN SPIELMAN AND SHANG-HUA TENG, "Nearly-linear time algorithms for graph partitioning, graph sparsification, and solving linear systems," Proc. 36th ACM Symposium on Theory of Computing, (2004) pp. 81–90. "Spectral sparsification of graphs," SIAM J. Computing 40 (2011), 981–1025. "A local clustering algorithm for massive graphs and its application to nearly linear time graph partitioning," SIAM J. Computing 42 (2013), 1–26. "Nearly linear time algorithms for preconditioning and solving symmetric, diagonally dominant linear systems," SIAM J. Matrix Anal. Appl. 35 (2014), 835–885.
- 2014: RONALD FAGIN, AMNON LOTEM, AND MONI NAOR, "Optimal Aggregation Algorithms for Middleware," Journal of Computer and System Sciences, 66(4) (2003), 614–656.
- 2013: ANTOINE JOUX, "A One Round Protocol for Tripartite Diffie-Hellman," J. Cryptology, 17 (4) (2003), 263–276.

DAN BONEH, MATTHEW K. FRANKLIN, "*Identity-Based Encryption from the Weil Pairing*," SIAM Journal of Computing, 32(3) (2003), 586–615.

2012: ELIAS KOUTSOUPIAS, CHRISTOS PAPADIMITRIOU, "Worst-case equilibria" Computer Science Review, 3 (2) (2009), 65–69.

TIM ROUGHGARDEN, ÉVA TARDOS, "*How bad is selfish routing*?" Journal of the ACM, 49 (2) (2002), 236–259.

NOAM NISAN AND AMIR RONEN, "Algorithmic Mechanism Design," Games and Economic Behavior, 35(1-2) (2001), 166–196.

2011: JOHAN HÁSTAD, "Some optimal inapproximability results," Journal of the ACM, 48 (2001), 798–859.