



Dear EATCS members,

As you might know already, the Council of the EATCS elected me as the new president of association at its meeting at ICALP 2012 in Warwick. This is a great honour for me, but also a great responsibility. It will be a hard job to follow on the footsteps of Burkhard Monien, who led the association so expertly since the end of ICALP 2008 in Reykjavik. Moreover, I feel that, in these difficult times, the EATCS can play an even more important role in the development of theoretical computer science than ever. I have a number of things that I would like to achieve during my term as president, but I welcome proposals from all of you. free to contact me via email at president@eatcs.org, if you have anything that you would like to see the EATCS do for the benefit of the theoretical computer science community.

An important thing that we can all do in order to increase the impact of the EATCS is to recruit new members, especially amongst the young researchers who are the future of our field. I hope that you will contribute to recruiting new members at your institution and amongst your closest collaborators.

ICALP 2012, which was held at the University of Warwick as part of the Alan Turing Year, was a very successful conference with a truly high-quality scientific programme. The conference was accompanied by three workshops: the Workshop on Applications of Parameterized Algorithms and Complexity (APAC), the Fourth International Workshop on Classical



Logic and Computation (CL&C), and the Third Workshop on Realistic Models for Algorithms in Wireless Networks (WRAWN). We thank the conference chair Artur Czumaj and the programme chairs Kurt Mehlhorn (track A), Andrew Pitts (track B) and Roger Wattenhofer (track C) for the perfect organization of the conference and the excellent choice of the scientific program. The conference attendees were treated to invited talks by Gilles Dowek, Kohei Honda, Stefano Leonardi, Daniel Spielman and Berthold Vöcking. Moreover, David Harel delivered an Alan Turing talk. As usual, a special award session took place to honour this year's prize winners. Moshe Y. Vardi received the EATCS Award 2012, and Venkatesan Guruswami and Mihai Patrascu (in memoriam) shared the Presburger Award 2012. The Gödel Prize 2012 (awarded jointly with SIGACT) was given to three groups of researchers: Elias Koutsoupias and Christos H. Papadimitriou, Tim Roughgarden and Éva Tardos, and Noam Nisan and Amir Ronen.

ICALP 2012 was the first ICALP ever without Manfred Kudlek, who died on June 18, 2012. Manfred was the ICALP historian, statistician and "official photographer". The conference will not be the same without his presence.

The organization of ICALP 2013 in Riga is proceeding well. It will again be organized in three tracks and the topics of the tracks remain the same as this year. The invited talks will be given by Susanne Albers (Humboldt University), Orna Kupferman (Hebrew University), Paul Spirakis (University of Patras), Daniel Marx (Hungarian Academy of Sciences) and

The Bulletin of the EATCS



Peter Widmayer (ETH Zürich). I hope that you will submit your best paper to ICALP 2013!

In this issue of the Bulletin, you will find the calls for nominations for the EATCS Award, the Presburger Award and the Gödel Prize. As usual, we are lucky to have very strong committees for each of the The committee for the EATCS Award awards. 2013 consists of Friedhelm Meyer auf der Heide (chair), Leslie Ann Goldberg and Vladimiro Sassone. The Presbuger Award 2013 committee is manned by Monika Henzinger (chair), Antonin Kucera and Peter Widmayer. Finally, the members of the Gödel Prize 2013 committee are Krzysztof Apt, Sanjeev Arora (chair), Josep Diaz, Giuseppe Italiano, Daniel Spielman and Éva Tardos. I thank all the award committee members in advance for their important service.

I encourage you to send nominations for these awards. I realize that this takes a little work, and that we are all very busy. However, individuals and papers can only receive awards if they are nominated. Moreover, awards put areas of, as well as inspirational figures in, theoretical computer science in the spotlight and can serve to inspire young researchers.

I look forward to seeing who the award winners will be and to working with all of you to make the EATCS even more influential than it already is.

Luca Aceto, Reykjavík October 2012