

Dear colleagues,

First of all, let me wish you a very happy 2017. I hope that this will be a healthy and fruitful year for all of you.

The organization of the 44th ICALP conference which will be held in Warsaw, Poland is proceeding well.

At the beginning of the year, we also received the sad news that Petr Hajek. You can read an obituary for Hajek in this issue of the Bulletin.

I hope that many of you will submit their best work to ICALP 2017 (deadline: Friday, 17 February 2017).

ICALP 2017 will feature four invited talks delivered by Mikołaj Bojańczyk (University of Warsaw, Poland), Monika Henzinger (University of Vienna, Austria) and Mikkel Thorup (University of Copenhagen, Denmark). The EATCS Award 2017, the Gödel Prize 2017 and the Presburger Award 2017 will all be presented at the conference, during which we will also honour the EATCS Fellows vintage 2017 and the recipients of the EATCS Distinguished Dissertation Awards for doctoral theses in theoretical computer science that were defended in 2016.

The EATCS Award committee consisting of Fedor Fomin (chair), Christos Papadimitriou and Jean-Eric Pin has selected Professor Éva Tardos (Cornell University, USA; as the recipient of the EATCS Award 2017.

The EATCS Fellow Selection Committee for 2017 consisted of Rocco De Nicola (IMT Lucca, Italy), Paul Goldberg (Oxford, UK; chair), Anca Muscholl (Bordeaux, France),



Dorothea Wagner (Karlsruhe, Germany) and Roger Wattenhofer (ETH Zurich, CH). has recognized four of its members for their outstanding contributions to theoretical computer science by naming them as recipients of an EATCS fellowship. The EATCS Fellows for 2017 are: Marta Kwiatkowska - Josep Diaz - Aravind Srinivasan - Moti Yung

The Alonzo Church Award for Outstanding Contributions to Logic and Computation which was established in 2015 by the ACM Special Interest Group for Logic and Computation (SIGLOG), the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS), the European Association for Computer Science Logic (EACSL) and the Kurt Gödel Society will be presented this coming August at the 26th EACSL Annual Conference on Computer Science Logic CSL - 2017. I strongly encourage you to submit nominations for the award; the deadline is March 1, 2017. (See for the call for nominations.)

As usual, let me close this letter by reminding you that you are always most welcome to send me your comments, criticisms and suggestions for improving the impact of the EATCS on the theoretical-computer-science community at association, and we will consider all your suggestions and criticisms carefully. I look forward to hearing from you.

Paul Spirakis, Liverpool, UK and Patras, Greece February 2017