First Call for Papers The 44th International Symposium on Mathematical Foundations of Computer Science MFCS 2019

August 26-30, 2019, Aachen, Germany

http://tcs.rwth-aachen.de/mfcs2019/

The MFCS conference series has been organized since 1972. Traditionally, the conference moved between the Czech Republic, Slovakia, and Poland, while since 2013, the conference travels around Europe. In 2019 it will take place in Germany.

MFCS is a high-quality venue for original research in all branches of theoretical computer science. The broad scope of the conference encourages interactions between researchers who might not meet at more specialized venues. MFCS 2019 consists of invited lectures and contributed talks, selected by an international program committee of researchers focusing on diverse areas of theoretical computer science. The conference will be accompanied by workshops.

Invited Speakers

- Jérôme Leroux (LaBRI, Talence)
- Daniel Lokshtanov (University of California at Santa Barbara (UCSB))
- Kurt Mehlhorn (Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik, Saarbrücken)
- Alexandra Silva (University College London)
- Kavitah Telikepalli (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai)

Important Dates

Submission Deadline:	Monday, April 22nd, 2019 (AoE)
Notification:	Wednesday, June 12th, 2019
Conference:	Monday, August 26th, to Friday, August 30th, 2019
Workshops:	Friday, August 30th, to Saturday, August 31st, 2019

Submission Guidelines

Papers should be submitted electronically through EasyChair at

```
https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=mfcs2019
```

Submissions should be prepared according to the following instructions:

Papers should be formatted using the LIPIcs style. Length: up to 12 pages (excluding references and an optional appendix). References and an optional appendix can go beyond the 12 pages (the appendix will be consulted at the discretion of the program committee). It is mandatory to use pdflatex.

No prior publication or simultaneous submission to other conferences or journals are allowed (except preprint repositories such as arXiv or workshops without formal published proceedings).

Publication

MFCS 2019 proceedings will be published in LIPIcs (Leibniz International Proceedings in Informatics) under an open source license (as in previous years).

List of Topics

We encourage submission of original research papers in all areas of theoretical computer science, including (but not limited to) the following:

- algebraic and co-algebraic methods in computer science
- algorithms and data structures
- automata and formal languages
- bioinformatics
- combinatorics on words, trees, and other structures
- computational complexity (structural and model-related)
- computational geometry
- computer-aided verification
- computer-assisted reasoning
- concurrency theory
- cryptography and security
- databases and knowledge-based systems
- formal specifications and program development
- foundations of computing
- logics in computer science
- mobile computing
- models of computation

- networks (incl. wireless, sensor, ad-hoc networks)
- parallel and distributed computing
- quantum computing
- semantics and verification of programs
- theoretical issues in artificial intelligence
- types in computer science

Program Committee

- Peter Rossmanith (RWTH Aachen University, chair)
- Pinar Heggernes (University of Bergen, co-chair)
- Joost-Pieter Katoen (RWTH Aachen University, co-chair)
- Nathalie Bertrand (INRIA)
- Benedikt Bollig (LSV, ENS Cachan, CNRS)
- Marthe Bonamy (CNRS, LaBRI, Bordeaux)
- Flavia Bonomo (Universidad de Buenos Aires)
- Franck van Breugel (University of York)
- Véronique Bruyère (University of Mons)
- Tiziana Calamoneri (Sapienza University of Rome)
- Supratik Chakraborty (IIT Bombay)
- Christophe Crespelle (Université Claude Bernard Lyon 1)
- Pedro R. D'Argenio (Universidad Nacional de Córdoba)
- Khaled Elbassioni (Masdar Institute)
- Edith Elkind (University of Oxford)
- Leah Epstein (University of Haifa)
- Henning Fernau (Univ. Trier)
- Dana Fisman (University of Pennsylvania)
- Fedor Fomin (Department of Informatics, University of Bergen)
- Serge Gaspers (UNSW Sydney and Data61, CSIRO)
- Archontia Giannopoulou (TU Berlin)
- Konrad Kazimierz Dabrowski (Durham University)
- Eun Jung Kim (CNRS Paris Dauphine)

- Erik Jan van Leeuwen (Utrecht University)
- Radu Mardare (Aalborg University)
- Arnaud Mary (LBBE)
- Roland Meyer (TU Braunschweig)
- Martin Milanič (UP IAM and UP FAMNIT, University of Primorska)
- Neeldhara Misra (Indian Institute of Science)
- Andrzej Murawski (University of Oxford)
- Michał Pilipczuk (University of Warsaw)
- Sridharan Ramanujan (Vienna University of Technology)
- Dieter Rautenbach (University of Ulm)
- Felix Reidl (University of London)
- Davide Sangiorgi (University of Bologna)
- Ignasi Sau (CNRS, LIRMM, Montpellier)
- Lutz Schröder (Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg)
- Hadas Shachnai (Technion)
- Mahsa Shirmohammadi (CNRS & LIS)
- Pawel Sobocinski (University of Southampton)
- B Srivathsan (Chennai Mathematical Institute)
- Ryuhei Uehara (Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology)
- Tarmo Uustalu (Reykjavik University)
- Igor Walukiewicz (CNRS, LaBRI)
- Mingsheng Ying (University of Technology, Sydney)
- Meirav Zehavi (Ben-Gurion University)

Organizing Committee

- Birgit Willms (chair)
- Jan Dreier
- Phillip Kuinke
- Jip Spel
- Matthias Volk

Venue

The conference will be held in the SuperC Building of RWTH Aachen University near the city center of Aachen, Germany.

Contact

All questions about submissions should be emailed to Peter Rossmanith (mfcs2019@ cs.rwth-aachen.de).