



Dear EATCS members.

As usual this time of the year, I have the great pleasure to announce the assignments of this year's Gódel Prize, EATCS Award and Presburger Award.

The Gödel Prize 2012, which is co-sponsored by EATCS and ACM SIGACT, has been awarded jointly to Elias Koutsoupias, Christos H. Papadimitriou, Tim Roughgarden, Éva Tardos, Noam Nisan and Amir Ronen. In particular, the prize has been awarded to Elias Koutsoupias and Christos H. Papadimitriou for their paper Worst-case equilibria. Computer Science Review, 3(2): 65-69. 2009; to Tim Roughgarden and Éva Tardos for their paper How Bad Is Selfish Routing?, Journal of the ACM, 49(2): 236-259, 2002; and to Noam Nisan and Amir Ronen for their paper Algorithmic Mechanism Design, Games and Economic Behavior, 35: 166-196, 2001. As you can read in the laudation published in this issue of the bulletin, these three papers contributed highly influential concepts and results that laid the foundation for an explosive growth in algorithmic game theory, a trans-disciplinary combination of the theory of algorithms and the theory of games that has greatly enriched both fields. The purpose of all three papers was to improve our understanding of how the internet and other complex computational systems behave when users and service providers in these systems act selfishly. On behalf of this year's Gödel Prize Committee (consisting of Sanjeev Arora, Josep Díaz, Giuseppe F. Italiano, Daniel



Spielman, Eli Upfal and Mogens Nielsen as chair) and the whole EATCS community I would like to offer our congratulations and deep respect to all of the six winners!

The EATCS Award 2012 has been granted to Moshe Vardi for his decisive influence on the development of theoretical computer science, for his pre-eminent career as a distinguished researcher, and for his role as a most illustrious leader and disseminator. The laudation, also published in this issue of the bulletin, illustrates his distinguished scientific career. Moshe Vardi has made fundamental and lasting research contributions to the development of mathematical logic as a unifying foundational framework for modeling computational systems. His research has focused on applying and developing logic in computing, and has played a major role in our present understanding and use of logic in computing. Vardi has contributed to several areas of theoretical computer science: in particular, software and hardware verification. databases. complexity theory and distributed systems. The proposal has been made by our selection committee consisting of Leslie Ann Goldberg. Friedhelm Meyer auf der Heide and Eugenio Moggi (chair), and it has been unanimously approved by the EATCS Council On behalf of the whole EATCS members. community I would like to offer our congratulations to Moshe for this well-deserved award!

The Presburger Award Committee 2012, consisting of Monika Henzinger, Antonin Kucera and Stefano Leonardi (chair) has



unanimously decided to propose Venkatesan Guruswami and Mihai Patrascu as joint recipients of the 2012 EATCS Presburger Award for young scientists. This excellent proposal has been approved by the EATCS Council members. The laudation, also published in this issue of the bulletin, illustrates that these two outstanding young scientists, both working in different fields at different stages of their career. are two of the most impressive researchers in theoretical computer science of their generation and ideal recipients for the Presburger Award. Venkatesan Guruswami has contributed cornerstone results to the theory of list decoding of error correcting codes. His work culminated in a publication that settles one of the most salient theoretical open problems in the theory of communication since Shannon's invention of error correcting codes in 1949. Mihai Patrascu has contributed fundamental results on lower bounds for data structures. His work has broken through many old barriers on fundamental data structure problems, not only revitalizing but also revolutionizing a field that was almost silent for over a decade. All our congratulations go out to Venkatesan and Mihai!

Please note that all three prizes will be presented in a ceremony that will take place during ICALP 2012 in Warwick. On behalf of the EATCS, I would like to offer our sincere thanks to all members of the Award Committees for their work and excellent choices.



The program of ICALP 2012 is now ready and can be viewed in detail on the corresponding website http://www2.warwick. ac.uk/fac/cross\_fac/dimap/icalp2012. again it is an excellent program, due to both the high quality of the contributed papers and the large number of scientific events, like the Turing Talk given by David Harel, the presentation of the Awards mentioned above and the five invited talks that will be given this year by Gilles Dowek, Kohei Honda, Stefano Leonardi, Daniel A. Spielman and Berthold Vöcking. Moreover, on Wednesday afternoon there will be a Turing Excursion combined with a visit of Bletchley Park which promises to be another memorable highlight. We are all convinced that the ICALP conference chaired by Kurt Mehlhorn (track A). Andrew Pitts (track B) and Roger Wattenhofer (track C) will again be a great success. conference will be preceded by three satellite workshops: APAC (Workshop on Applications of Parameterized Algorithms and Complexity), CL&C (Fourth International Workshop on Classical Logic and Computation), and WRAWN (Third Workshop on Realistic models for Algorithms in Wireless Networks). The Conference Chair, Artur Czumaj, together with his team is doing an excellent job and we are looking forward to meeting you in Warwick. So, hurry up and register now for this extraordinary event!

In Warwick, you will have also the opportunity to see the first Call for Papers for ICALP 2013 with the indication of the program committees and the invited speakers. In this context, I would like to take this opportunity to invite you to attend the EATCS General Assembly which

## The Bulletin of the EATCS



will take place on Tuesday evening during the ICALP week in Warwick and where you will be informed in detail about the EATCS activities within the last year and the plans for the next year.

> Burkhard Monien, Paderborn June 2012