

Dear colleagues,

First of all, I hope that you had a good summer break and that you have recharged your batteries for whatever challenges await you in the new academic year.

As many of you will know, we had a very successful 46th ICALP in Patras this year. The scientific quality was indeed remarkably high and it was a pleasure to see many of you at the conference. It was accompanied by the 4 workshops Workshop on Theoretical Aspects of Fairness (WTAF), Parameterized Approximation Algorithms Workshop (PAAW), Workshop on Algorithmic Aspects of Temporal Graphs II and Logic and Computational Complexity Workshop (LCC 2019). The organizers did their very best to make it a memorable event, and I like to think that all the participants felt welcome and enjoyed the conference. On the behalf of the EATCS, I have to give thanks to the organization committee:Andreas Bardoutsos, Efstratios Gallopoulos, John Garofalakis, Christos Kaklamanis, Paraskevi Machaira, Sotiris Nikoletseas (Conference Co-Chair), Nikolaos Zacharatos, Christos Zaroliagis (Conference Co-Chair) and their team at the University of Patras, and the program chairs Stefano Leonardi (track A), Christel Baier (track B) and Paola Flocchini (track C) for the perfect organization of the conference and the excellent choice of the program. The audience fully enjoyed invited talks by Michal Feldman, Martin Grohe, Ola Svensson, Frits Vaandrager and Mihalis Yannakakis. Furthermore, I really appreciated the good attendance we had at the EATCS general



assembly.

The organization of ICALP 2020 which will take place in Beijing (China) on 8 - 12 July 2020 is proceeding well. It is the first time that it will be organized in two tracks, track A and B. I hope that you will submit your best work to the conference and that you will make the trip to the wonderful Beijing for what promises to be yet another exciting ICALP conference.

The EATCS council meeting and the general assembly at ICALP 2019 were interesting and fruitful. The general assembly of the EATCS decided that ICALP 2021 will be held in Glasgow, UK.

The Council Elections 2019 runned this month. The term of office of the following Council members, who were elected in 2015, expired this year:

Jos Baeten, The Netherlands
Lars Birkedal, Denmark
Fedor Fomin, Norway
Magnus Halldorsson, Iceland
Monika Henzinger, Austria
Elvira Mayordomo, Spain
Anca Muscholl, France
Thomas Schwentick, Germany
Jukka Suomela, Finland
Gerhard Woeginger, The Netherlands

The new elected members of the EATCS council are (in alphabetical order):

Ivona Bezakova, USA
Fabian Kuhn, Germany
Slawomir Lasota, Poland
Elvira Mayordomo, Spain
Anca Muscholl, France
Maria Serna, Spain
Ola Svensson, Switzerland
Till Tantau, Germany



Sophie Tison, France Gerhard Woeginger, Germany At this point I would like to thank our Secretary Office for handling this important procedure for one more time.

As usual at this time of the year, the EATCS issues calls for nominations for the EATCS Award, the Distinguished Dissertation Award, the Presburger Award and the EATCS Fellows. You can also read the calls in this issue of the Bulletin. They have also been posted on mailing lists, blogs and social networks. Please distribute the calls as you see fit and I hope that you will take the time to nominate excellent researchers, papers and doctoral dissertations for these awards, which will all be presented at ICALP 2020 in Beijing. Awards and prizes are a way to recognize the achievement of some of our many outstanding colleagues and they put our favourite research fields in the spotlight. Last, but by no means least, awards provide examples and inspiration for the younger generations of researchers who are the future of our field as a whole. nomination takes some of our precious time. but it is worth it.

Last, but by no means least, let me remind you that you are always welcome to write to me at president@eatcs.org. I look forward to hearing your suggestions for improving the impact of the EATCS on the TCS community and for making EATCS membership more attractive for young researchers, who are the future of our field of study.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Paul Spirakis, Liverpool, UK and



Patras, Greece October 2019