EATCS DISTINGUISHED DISSERTATION AWARD FOR 2020

EATCS is proud to announce that, after examining the nominations received from our research community, the EATCS Distinguished Dissertation Award Committee 2020, consisting of Susanne Albers, Nikhil Bansal, Elvira Mayordomo, Jaroslav Nesetril, Damian Niwinski, David Peleg (chair), Vladimiro Sassone and Alexandra Silva, has selected the following three theses as recipients of the EATCS Distinguished Dissertation Award for 2020:

Counting, Sampling and Testing Subgraphs in Sublinear-Time, by **Talya Eden**, (talyaa01@gmail.com), Tel Aviv University. Advisor: Dana Ron (danaron@tauex.tau.ac.il),

Expressivity of first-order logic, star-free propositional dynamic logic and communicating automata, by **Marie Fortin**, (Marie.Fortin@liverpool.ac.uk), l'Université Paris-Saclay Advisors, Paul Gastin (gastin@lsv.fr) and Benedikt Bollig (bollig@lsv.fr),

Approximation Algorithms for Traveling Salesman Problems, by **Vera Traub**, (vera.traub@ifor.math.ethz.ch), University of Bonn Advisor: Jens Vygen (vygen@or.uni-bonn.de)







The EATCS Distinguished Dissertation Award Committee 2020 consisted of

- Susanne Albers
- Nikhil Bansal
- Elvira Mayordomo
- Jaroslav Nesetril
- Damian Niwinski
- David Peleg (chair)
- Vladimiro Sassone
- Alexandra Silva

The EATCS Distinguished Dissertation Award has been established to promote and recognize outstanding dissertations in the field of Theoretical Computer Science. Any PhD dissertation in the field of Theoretical Computer Science successfully defended in 2020 has been eligible. The dissertations were evaluated on the basis of originality and potential impact on their respective fields and on Theoretical Computer Science. Each of the selected dissertations will receive a prize of 1000 Euro. The award receiving dissertations will be published on the EATCS web site, where all the EATCS Distinguished Dissertations will be collected.

The three recipients will be presented during the ICALP 2021 conference.

The list of the previous recipients of the EATCS Distinguished Dissertation Award is available at https://eatcs.org/index.php/dissertation-award.