EATCS DISTINGUISHED DISSERTATION AWARD FOR 2022

EATCS is proud to announce that, after examining the nominations received from our research community, the EATCS Distinguished Dissertation Award Committee 2021, consisting of Susanne Albers, Nikhil Bansal, Elvira Mayordomo, Jaroslav Nesetril, Damian Niwinski, David Peleg (chair), Vladimiro Sassone and Alexandra Silva, has selected the following three theses as recipients of the EATCS Distinguished Dissertation Award for 2021:

Alexandros Hollender: Structural Results for Total Search Complexity Classes with Applications to Game Theory and Optimisation (University of Oxford; advisor: Paul W. Goldberg).,

Jason Li: Preconditioning and Locality in Algorithm Design (Carnegie Mellon University; advisors: Anupam Gupta and Bernhard Haeupler).,

Jan van den Brand: Dynamic Matrix Algorithms and Applications in Convex and Combinatorial Optimization (KTH Royal Institute of Technology; advisor: Danupon Nanongkai).

The award certificate will be presented to in the award ceremony of ICALP 2022, to take place in Paris, France, in July 4-8, 2022.

The EATCS Distinguished Dissertation Award Committee 2021 consisted of

- Susanne Albers
- Nikhil Bansal
- Elvira Mayordomo
- Jaroslav Nesetril
- Damian Niwinski
- David Peleg (chair)
- Vladimiro Sassone
- Alexandra Silva

The EATCS Distinguished Dissertation Award has been established to promote and recognize outstanding dissertations in the field of Theoretical Computer Science. Any PhD dissertation in the field of Theoretical Computer Science successfully defended in 2020 has been eligible. The dissertations were evaluated on the basis of originality and potential impact on their respective fields and on Theoretical Computer Science. Each of the selected dissertations will receive a prize of 1000 Euro. The award receiving dissertations will be published on the EATCS web site, where all the EATCS Distinguished Dissertations will be collected.

The list of the previous recipients of the EATCS Distinguished Dissertation Award is available at https://eatcs.org/index.php/dissertation-award.