THE EATCS AWARD 2023

Amos Fiat

The EATCS Award 2023 is awarded to

Amos Fiat

The 2023 EATCS Award is given Amos Fiat for his fundamental work within many areas of theoretical computer science and in particular for work in cryptography, on-line algorithms, and algorithmic game theory.

In cryptography, the Fiat-Shamir heuristic for protocol design has had enormous influence. It is basic, simple and elegant. In particular, it gives a way to transform any interactive identification scheme into a non-interactive signature scheme.

A world of massive communication with ever changing group membership calls for novel solutions. Fiat and Naor created the notion of broadcast encryption and proposed an implementation which comes with both theoretical guarantees and excellent practical performance.

Among other influential contributions in cryptography are the Feige–Fiat–Shamir identification scheme and his work with Chaum and Naor on electronic money.

In the area of on-line algorithm Fiat has many excellent contributions including foundational work on competitive paging algorithms and the k-server problem.

His most recent research in algorithmic game theory led to several fundamental results in algorithmic mechanic design, auctions and pricing, and the study of market equilibria.

The EATCS Award Committee 2023

- Johan Håstad (chair)
- Thomas Henzinger

• Valerie King

The award will be presented at ICALP 2023, in Paderborn.

The EATCS annually honors a respected scientist from our community with this prestigious EATCS Distinguished Achievements Award, to acknowledge extensive and widely recognized contributions to theoretical computer science over a life long scientific career (see http://eatcs.org/index.php/eatcs-award for more information, including the list of previous recipients)

The following is the list of the previous recipients of the EATCS Awards:

2022 Patrick Cousot 2021 Toniann (Toni) Pitassi 2020 Mihalis Yannakakis 2019 Thomas Henzinger 2018 Noam Nisan 2017 Éva Tardos 2016 Dexter Kozen 2015 Christos Papadimitriou 2014 Gordon Plotkin 2013 Martin Dyer 2012 Moshe Y. Vardi 2011 Boris (Boaz) Trakhtenbrot 2010 Kurt Mehlhorn 2009 Gérard Huet 2008 Leslie G. Valiant 2007 Dana S. Scott 2006 Mike Paterson 2005 Robin Milner 2004 Arto Salomaa 2003 Grzegorz Rozenberg 2002 Maurice Nivat 2001 Corrado Böhm 2000 Richard Karp