

Dear EATCS members,

This is my first letter as President of EATCS, and I feel excited about it. It is an honor and a privilege to serve our community in this new role, and I am committed to working tirelessly for EATCS to advance our field of theoretical computer science. I would like to start by thanking Artur Czumaj for his exemplary leadership as previous President. Following in his footsteps will undoubtedly be a challenge, but I am fortunate to benefit from the groundwork he has laid!

We are living in a particularly exciting time for the recognition of computer science. The recent Physics Nobel Prize

2024 awarded to John J. Hopfield and Geoffrey E. Hinton "for foundational discoveries and inventions that enable machine learning with artificial neural networks", and the Chemistry Nobel Award 2024 awarded to Demis Hassabis and John M. Jumper for their work on "protein structure prediction" with the deep learning model AlphaFold2, highlight the immense impact of machine learning on the world. It is also a very important time for the recognition of theoretical computer science, with the 2023 Turing Award being given to Awi Widgerson "for foundational contributions to the theory of computation, including reshaping our understanding of the role of randomness in computation and mathematics. and for his decades of intellectual leadership in theoretical computer science".

On a sadder note, I can't help but think about the untimely passing of Luca



Trevisan. Luca was a colleague and a friend, and I believe that the EATCS community has experienced a great loss. His impact on theoretical computer science is invaluable, and I am sure that his memory will continue to inspire us all. To commemorate Luca's significant contributions to the field, we are working with the Computational Complexity Conference to have their best student paper award named after him.

In a few months we will have calls for nominations for many awards, including the EATCS Award, the Presburger Award, the EATCS Distinguished Dissertation Award, the EATCS Fellows, and some other joint awards, such as the Gödel Prize, the Alonzo Church Award, and the Dijkstra Prize. Let me take the opportunity to thank all the Award Committee Members for their important service to our community. Please consider sending your strong nominations for all those awards!

As we move forward, I am eager to hear your thoughts and ideas on how we can best serve our EATCS community. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me with any feedback or suggestions. Together, we can continue to push the boundaries of theoretical computer science and make an impact for a better world!

Giuseppe F. Italiano Luiss University, Rome President of EATCS president@eatcs.org