THE PRESBURGER AWARD FOR YOUNG SCIENTISTS 2025

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

DEADLINE: 13 MARCH 2025

The Presburger Award recognises outstanding contributions by a young scientist in theoretical computer science, documented by a published paper or a series of published papers. It is named after Mojzesz Presburger who accomplished his ground-breaking work on decidability of the theory of addition (known today as Presburger arithmetic) as a student in 1929. The award is conferred annually by the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS) at the International Colloquium on Automata, Languages, and Programming (ICALP).

Nominated scientists have to be young scientists as of January 1st of the year of the award, by either being at most 35 years old (that is, for 2025, the nominee should be born in 1989 or later), or having finished their PhD at most 6 years ago. The eligibility is extended due to leaves of absence according to the same rules as the ERC starting grant: https://erc.europa.eu/apply-grant/starting-grant.

Nominations for the Presburger Award can be submitted by any member or group of members of the theoretical computer science community, but not by the nominee themselves nor the advisors for their master's thesis or doctoral dissertation.

The Presburger Award committee for 2025 consists of Tal Malkin (Columbia University, chair), Joël Ouaknine (Max Planck Institute for Software Systems) and Shiri Chechik (Tel-Aviv University). Nominations, consisting of a two page justification and (links to) the relevant publications, as well as additional supporting letters, should be sent by e-mail to:

presburger-award@eatcs.org

The subject line of every nomination should start with *Presburger Award 2025*, and the message must be received before **March 13th**, **2025**.

The award includes an amount of 1000 Euro and an invitation to ICALP 2025 for a lecture.

Previous Winners:

Mikołaj Bojanczyk, 2010 Patricia Bouyer-Decitre, 2011 Venkatesan Guruswami and Mihai Patrascu, 2012 Erik Demaine, 2013 David Woodruff, 2014 Xi Chen, 2015 Mark Braverman, 2016 Alexandra Silva, 2017 Aleksander Madry, 2018 Karl Bringmann and Kasper Green Larsen, 2019 Dmitriy Zhuk, 2020 Shayan Oveis Gharan, 2021 Dor Minzer, 2022 Aaron Bernstein and Thatchaphol Saranurak, 2023 Justin Hsu and Pravesh Kothari, 2024

Official website: http://www.eatcs.org/index.php/presburger