THE PRESBURGER AWARD FOR YOUNG SCIENTISTS 2012

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

Deadline: December 31st, 2011

Starting in 2010, the European Association of Theoretical Computer Science established the **Presburger Award**, conferred annually at the International Colloquium on Automata, Languages and Programming (ICALP) to a young scientist (in exceptional cases to several young scientists) for outstanding contributions in theoretical computer science, documented by a published paper or a series of published papers.

The Award is named after Mojżesz Presburger who accomplished his path-breaking work on decidability of the theory of addition (which today is called Presburger arithmetic) as a student in 1929.

Nominations for the Presburger Award can be submitted by any member or group of members of the theoretical computer science community except the nominee and his/her advisors for the master thesis and the doctoral dissertation. Nominated scientists have to be at most 35 years at the time of the deadline of nomination (i.e., for the Presburger Award of 2012 the date of birth should be in 1976 or later).

The Presburger Award Committee of 2012 consists of Monika Henzinger (Vienna), Antonin Kucera (Brno) and Stefano Leonardi (Rome, chair). Nominations, consisting of a two page justification and (links to) the respective papers, as well as additional supporting letters (if any), should be sent to:

The Bulletin of the EATCS

Stefano Leonardi, Dipartimento di Ingegneria Informatica, Auto-matica e Gestionale Antonio Ruberti, Sapienza University of Rome, Via Ariosto 25, 00185 Roma, Italy; or leon@dis.uniroma1.it

by 31st December 2011.

Previous recipients of the Presburger Award are

P. Bouyer-Decitre (2010)

M. Bojanczyk (2011)

The award includes an amount of $1000 \in$ and an invitation to ICALP 2011 for a lecture.

The Presburger Award is sponsored by BiCi, the Bertinoro international Center for informatics.

Official website: http://www.eatcs.org/index.php/presburger