Interviews with the 2021 CONCUR Test-of-Time Award Recipients

Luca Aceto, Nathalie Bertrand, Nobuko Yoshida, The Concurrency Column by Nobuko Yoshida


Last year, the CONCUR conference series inaugurated its Test-of-Time Award, purpose of which is to recognise important achievements in Con- currency Theory that were published at the CONCUR conference and that have stood the test of time. This year, the following four papers were chosen to receive the CONCUR Test-of-Time Awards for the periods 1994–1997 and 1996–1999 by a jury consisting of Rob van Glabbeek (chair), Luca de Alfaro, Nathalie Bertrand, Catuscia Palamidessi, and Nobuko Yoshida:

  • David Janin and Igor Walukiewicz. On the Expressive Completeness of the Propositional mu-Calculus with respect to Monadic Second Or- der Logic [3].

  • Uwe Nestmann and Benjamin C. Pierce. Decoding Choice Encod- ings [4].

  • Ahmed Bouajjani, Javier Esparza, and the late Oded Maler. Reacha- bility Analysis of Pushdown Automata: Application to Model- checking [2].

  • Rajeev Alur, Thomas A. Henzinger, Orna Kupferman, and Moshe Y. Vardi. Alternating Refinement Relations [1].

    This year, the second paper was live-interviewed by Nobuko Yoshida; the third paper was interviewed by Nathalie Bertrand and the forth paper was interviewed by Luca Aceto. Adam Barwell and Francisco Ferreira helped making the article from the live interview by Yoshida.


Full Text:



  • There are currently no refbacks.